Spring Knitting Clear Up

cleaning

More catching up from Easter – I have definitely been busy this Easter! I have finished (and I have started) a hefty chunk of things and I am definitely feeling a bit smug. Ok, some of the planned things didn’t happen (paging the log cabin blanket) but all in all a good haul.

cleaning2

First up, the mighty green cardi. This has been resting in the WIP box due to uncertainty over the trim, but on closer inspection I decided that the trim was a go-to-launch and then finished-it-off. The lace is called “Vandyke lace” and it is reasonably reversible (the difference is only really noticeable on close inspection). It is close to the original plan of a leafy style lace, but without the mirroring/reversible problems that I found.

cleaning3

The buttons are actually coconut shell (from John Lewis) and I like the way the cream-brown sets off the green. I still have some more Rowan Calmer (but in bright teal) so I might make a third one to the same base recipe, but perhaps I will do a wavy theme trim this time. I will definitely keep my eye out at this year’s Ally Pally to see if there is anymore (perhaps in grey/silver or navy blue?) as there is nothing as nice as good yarn on a discount. Each cardi has about 3-4 balls left over, so a striped bonus one is also going to be in the offing!

cleaning4

I have also dusted off a lace-weight shawl (as I seem to be all about the shawls this month). Made from baby camel and silk “Eat to the Beat” by “I knit or dye” it is really soft and has a fantastic sheen to it. At an eye watering 100g to 800m it is literally sewing thread weight and I have already had a little frog/argument about tension. Yep, I had to pull back the first two repeats TWICE to get a sensible tension (it was too open and the pattern looked wrong), but third time is the charm and I have moved past the fatal second repeat, stretched it out and everything seems to be on-track.

But definitely a no TV, this is a quiet pattern!

LouBug

Leave a Reply

