Blue Yoner #knitting

blue

Sorry for the hiatus, but Easter is my busy season (main GCSE marking) and KnitWit was off tripping around the world. But I’m back and although the blog was left hanging, I have been knitting like a demon. So where were we?

blue2

The socks are done! Sorry for the old photo, but they are currently in the wash! And I have now moved onto this rather eye popping pair (Jitterbug “popsicle” which is the green one on the right) as my lunch time knitting.

blue3

I think I will re-name them as I see a more spring/wood/meadow feel (for me a popsicle is more reds and oranges). I cannot think of an eye catching (ear catching?) name, but I fancy something a bit Lord of the Rings – like Fangorn or Buckleberry would work (or indeed simply call them “Hobbity socks”).

blue4

As I have been (unsubtlety) reminded, I have been re-miss in not mentioning the lovely blue yarn that KnitWit gave me with my Christmas bundle, the often coveted “Malbro” is a heady mix of merino and silk and has been carefully positioned for maximum petting for months now. Whole Ravelry groups are devoted to this stuff and it is clear why; crisp colours, fantastically soft and supporting Women’s co-operatives in Peru; a feel good yarn on many different levels. Over Easter I took it from its petting perch and wound it into a ball and get it ready for use. It is 4ply but far too nice to use for socks (and I love socks!), so I have decided to give my “Sock yarn shawls” book another airing.

blue5

The variegated blue/purple needs some room to shine, so a solid starting triangle (with a lace edge) is the way forwards. This pattern (Timpani) is the current firm favourite, as it has the solid start and the large blocks on the lace will carry on showing the colours off. I was tempted to do this earlier with some bright pink Jittterbug, but in my heart I know it would be a bit too dayglow for my taste in jackets.

blue6

I will admit I also chose the solid block start as it is a speedy way to knit and I have already got most of the body triangle done. Onto the lace!

LouBug

Leave a Reply

