When The Going Gets Tough… The Tough Knit Socks

tough

A new job is always a stressful transition. But factor in the emotional roller coaster that is teaching (and that is on a good day) and welcome to a stress work-nado (like a sharknado but with fewer chainsaws) of my life. Start of term is always a bit mad, as there are a billion things to do (we are talking a six Post-It note to-do list, people). Some of this has been hampered by me needing to learn new systems, find out who the “go to” people are and the actual location of meeting rooms. Luckily, everyone has been super nice – even the kids!

tough2

But let us sidestep all of that and fall face first into the woolly loving embrace of knitting!

tough3

With work cutting into my knitting time, socks are the best project to work on, as it is all about the visible progress. Both the red jumper and green cardi are still getting the odd row added, but due to their sizes it doesn’t feel like I am doing very much for my time, which can be disheartening. However, my on-going attempts to use up my sock yarn scraps has resulted in a burst of activity and I have finally started to knit the summer socks I wanted (yes, I know it is October). These ‘just cover the foot’ will allow a summer evening cosy toe moment with a lower risk of heat exhaustion. Happily, one pair can be made just from my left over Jitterbug (mmmmmm Jitterbug) and as I need to tweak the cast on down to 56 (opposed to 60) I can play with patterns I cannot usually fit into.

tough4

The pink socks knitted up quite quickly, but they were a bit of a photo finish (50cm of yarn left eek!). When I cast on the next pair, I included a well-placed stripe of blue to ensure the yardage wouldn’t be such a headache. I figure I can then include any left over from this pair as a stripe in the next (and so on). These are now heading happily to the second toe with a comfortable amount of yarn still to go.

tough5

On a more ambitious note, and in a foolish burst of activity at the start of term, I have also cast on these beauties. Stranded colour-work. Sheep. Cool colours. Plan! They look massive (70 cast on looks like a sleeve) but I have faith that it is necessary as stranded work is notoriously non-stretchy and can shrink a bit on the first wash. Naturally being 70 in a round it makes every round take longer and with the added slowdown of stranding which has made it fall from favour. But I keep adding the odd row here and there so it might be one of the surprise creeper projects.

LouBug

Leave a Reply

