It’s My Birthday & I’ll Knit If I Want To!

wpid-1402925940971.jpg

Yes, it’s my birthday coming up – 25 again (kind of…). Luckily I have a sister who has a hawk eye and noted in her brain the things I saw in the knit shop when we were both together last, but was too tight to buy for myself. Here they are, wrapped up for my birthday, hurray! Well, not exactly wrapped up…hastily unwrapped before the Big Day.

I have deemed the etiquette to be that it is better form to open the presented gift in front of the giver, rather than wait. This is a rather handy piece of (made-up) etiquette, as I happen to be a very impatient person.

My last foray into Lumio light reflecting yarn was back in the new year, and resulted in a hat with a mutant bobble. It was so large my poor child had a job keeping his head upright.

wpid-1388751070836.jpg

I have plans to make one of my trusted snoods out of this new Lumio, perhaps one with a cable. And what better way to create this new delight, but on my brand new Knit Pros! These Knit Pros appear to be the gateway to the world of expensive knitting paraphernalia. I can stop any time, of course.

wpid-1402926215165.jpg

Next on the hit list is this:

wpid-1402925978689.jpg

From the look of it, I think it would be best knitted into a woolly hat. It appears to be a magical mystery tour of black knitting, then bright pink. I just have to close my eyes and knit away and see what comes out at the end.

None of these are lovely light-weight summer knits, but although they don’t challenge my poor brain, at least they don’t send me into a rage. Surely this is the what knitting should be…especially at my age!

KnitWit

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vivianne
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 18:27:31

    I bought a pair of KnitPro fixed circulars, for lace knitting – I luff them SO much 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Twisted Yarn
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 19:34:44

    KnitPros are wonderful, especially their Symfonie interchangeables, which I use for pretty much everything knittingwise. Fascinated to read about the Lumio yarn – that’s a genius idea! Am off to Google it. Your son’s hat looks fab. Oh, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

