A Time For Growing Things

LF

 

The foxes can now see! Yep, the buttons arrived and have been suitably placed to give maximum cuteness. So KnitWit, how’s your one fox pillow going….?

LF2

 

Now I have the glory of a newly finished project behind me, my nose has started twitching as the air of spring is here. In the name of spring-cleaning I have had my stash box out and started dreaming of new projects.

LF3

 

First up, I have made a good start on my pink sparkle scarf. This has been frogged from an unsuccessful crochet scarf and one of the first casualties from Finish-Up-February. Incidentally, despite only finishing two things, I did reach my goal of six row counters and I think it has helped my knitting mojo to know that the there are no unloved projects lurking around. This yarn is a prime example. It was sitting unloved for the best part of six months and now it is back and knitting up fast (I only cast on last week and I have already reached the halfway mark).

LF4

 

It is based on the central panel of my disappointing cobweb scarf (ok, I am being unfair, the scarf is fine but it was such a trauma to finish it, I can’t bring myself to use it. Time will heal that I am sure. After knitting with cobweb yarn (think sewing thread), this 4ply is flying along, helped by the fact that it is only 30 stitches (not 60 stitches) wide. The colour transition works nicely and fades from almost white to a dark wine purple. There is also a “Crystal Barbie” coloured thread running through it (hard to photograph) that twinkles in the light.  

LF5

 

I am also happy to report that by tracking and counting the colour changes I am comfortably sure that I will not run out of yarn. This is a blessed relief after the trauma of being short on the cobweb one! I am already debating using the rest to put a trim on the short ends. Failing that, I might have enough to make a skinny jacket scarf.

So, what yarn have you recently rescued from an unloved corner of your project box?

LouBug

 

Leave a Reply

