Basket Weave Cushion

wpid-1391701826427.jpg

This basket weave square is the Madonna of my knitting world. It has changed direction so many times, morphing into different things along the way. It started life as a giant basket weave blanket, then changed direction to a basket weave “feature” blanket with garter trim as I was feeling lazy and has now settled on being the front of a cushion cover. I did ponder whether I could make a scarf out of the thing at one point. Desperate times.

wpid-1391701902935.jpg

By sheer luck it was the perfect size to cover the front of an old cushion I had lounging around on the sofa. The knitting gods were clearly shining down on me – or maybe they couldn’t bear the thought of a world where one more of my snoods was unleashed. The backing wasn’t the most classy of affairs, but a salvaged pillow slip. More tatty than vintage, but still a bit of a waste to throw out (despite the matching duvet cover being chucked some time ago after going through a mysterious process of shredding and disintegration).

Still, it does the job. I hand sewed the knitted square onto the top and sewed the pillow inside. Quite labour intensive, but I couldn’t think of another way of doing it.

wpid-1391701871690.jpg

Anyway, now with pillow fever I have spotted a rather excellent pillow in this month’s copy of Let’s Knit. Behold this foxy wonder:

wpid-1392384396341.jpg

The recommended yarn is Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran. At £4.75 per ball, and 6 balls required it seems a little steep for a cushion that (let’s face it), I may make a right hash of. I shall be scouring the internet for alternatives, and reading up on the intarsia colourwork technique, but I think this one could be next on the list!

KnitWit

Leave a Reply

