For Whom The Frog Croaks

Frog

Well, I have been harsh, critical and decisive (yes, I am the real LouBug).  To help free up stitch markers in my Finish up February plan, it was time to take a long hard look at the projects that had stalled and stagnated.  The tea was hot and the moment was right to begin that hardest of knitting tasks.  Every single bagged project dug out, unwrapped, critically assessed and then either granted new life or frogged.   Many biscuits were dunked to help ease the decision making process.

Frog2

My stash busting technique of bagging up potential projects usually works, but not always.  So, three projects that never actually got cast on have now been returned to the stash.  Some have been waiting sadly for over six months and hopefully they will now get to fulfil their fluffy goodness on a new and exciting projects.

Four projects (but only two row counters) have now gone to the frog pond.  They all had less than an inch of work on them and the mojo fled the building a long time ago.

So, please, a moment to mark the passing of:

frog3

The blue bubbles shrug that has not progressed for 18 months (it narrowly squeaked through last year’s frog watch).  The circle pattern is fun, but not really suitable for 4ply cotton. I was one pattern repeat in and the idea of doing another 20 was too horrific to consider.  Considering the issue with tan lines and the dark yarn, the fiddley lace pattern and the simple fact that I have spent more time taking this out of the bag, gazing at it and then putting it back than actually knitting it means bye bye blue.

frog4

The airy shrug that I made hot off the heels of writing my new pattern, but if I am honest two shrugs the same is fine but not three.  I might have another go (as I do like the pattern) when the colours for next summer come out and the need to flash the fashion cred kicks in.  Here is to a neon pink one!

frog5

The two squares started for Queen’s mate (before I came to my senses and decided to reduce the size of it).  Again, 4ply was not a good choice especially considering the draining mojo towards the project.  I have accepted that I am unlikely to every knit more squares for it, it fits the bed – job done.

frog6

The Sparkly pink mohair crochet scarf.  Nice pattern, bad combination.  And yes, it was a complete stitch to frog (after fighting it for 20 minutes, the cast on row was binned without a moments regret).  I am now debating a simple ripple knit stitch as the yarn does have a Crystal Barbie thread running through it which would be delightfully girly to wear.

frog7

However, a surprising winner is the double knitted star scarf.  I had forgotten about this and enjoyed making it but it was too complex to do in front of the TV and so it got forgotten.  The technique creates double sided fabric and I love the way it looks.

frog8

I am not sure I will sustain the mojo enough to do a full scarf, but I am tempted to reduce the length and make it a button together cowl (so it could be a Mobius or a ring) to best show off the two sided effect.

What have you recently frogged/rescued from the frog pond?

LouBug

 

Leave a Reply

