Open Work Infinity Scarf

wpid-1391719347863.jpg

Here it is – my latest offering.

After a hasty purchase at Alexandra Palace of about a gazillion of these Rowan merino wool balls (they were half price!), I have been wondering ever since what on earth to do with them all…

wpid-1390222392728.jpg

I’d already started on a massive blanket, got distracted by a 20 episode box-set of a Danish murder mystery, and abandoned it (more on that another time, the basket weave giant square has been put to good use, promise!). So what was I to do? Log on to Ravelry of course!

I put ‘Rowan biggy print’ into the search terms and a few crazy things came up – weird elf slipper boots for one, and a giant jumper. The feedback on the jumper was not good. Felting was mentioned at the mere mention of a wash, plus I didn’t fancy fending off comments about how I’d doubled in size over night (this wool is chuuuuuuunky).

A particular picture caught my eye though – a pleasing variation on my snood obsession, and with a nice, easy-to-follow pattern. The link led to www.knit1la.com and the pattern Open Work Infinity Scarf.

wpid-1391719436817.jpg

With massive 12mm needles and the super chunky, this scarf didn’t take long. The yarn overs in the pattern also mean that the scarf isn’t too dense.

wpid-1391702402381.jpg

Even with my limited attention span, I managed to imprint the pattern on my brain quickly, helped by the fact it is just a 12 stitch cast on – thus reducing the hazard of completely losing track.

Repeat row 1 until long enough to wrap around oneself twice:

Sl 1 (as if to purl), *k1 (yo, k2tog) twice; repeat from * to end, k1 (all credit to Knit 1 LA).

wpid-1391702368571.jpg

KnitWit

Leave a Reply

