Nordic Noir Knitting

wpid-1390222828230.jpg

Like a grubby DVD drug pusher, LouBugKnits’ shared sibling – our brother – has been responsible for hours and hours of my life disappearing. Since lending me The Killing – Danish Nordic Noir murder mystery box set – I have been addicted!

wpid-1390222392728.jpg

This murder mystery series has been responsible for two new questions in my life. Number 1, who (but who?!) killed Nanna Birk Larsen? And question 2 – where on earth did CID genius Sarah Lund get that lovely Faroe Island jumper?!!

the killing

The answer, of course, can be found using the power of Google. Someone has even set up a website dedicated to the hand-knitted, un-dyed, organic (hardy northern Faroese sheep) wool sarahlundsweater.com

Genius.

There seems to be as many articles about the murder series as there are about the jumper she wears! The jumper is apparently ‘self cleaning’ due the oils in the wool, which is just as well as it has appeared in every episode so far, and I’m about 7 episodes in…

Anyway, back to the chunky blanket. One (large) square in basket weave is now complete. I plan on surrounding it with a further four squares to thus cover my lap (whilst I watch The Killing, of course) and protect me from the arctic breezes from my fancy, but draughty and annoying, traditional sash windows.

wpid-1390222857830.jpg

Practicalities now reign, so I have been forced to complete the rest of this blanket in garter stitch. I can’t concentrate on the basket weave AND be expected to read subtitles and follow an intricate murder mystery plot, now can I?

wpid-1390222901091.jpg

Back to the jumper…just to mention that you’d better start saving now if you fancy one for yourself – a mere £236 from designers Gudrun & Gudrun. On second thoughts, where are those 8mm needles?

KnitWit

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zoonabe
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 23:19:20

    Have you watched “the bridge” (Danish version)its also very good, and its on netflix

    Reply

    • KnitWit
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 11:44:11

      Is that the series “The Tunnel” was based on? Loved that series…will defo check out The Bridge. Will be fluent in Danish soon 🙂

      Reply

      • zoonabe
        Jan 25, 2014 @ 16:21:32

        Yip, but watch the bridge first if you can. I haven’t seen the tunnel yet.

      • zoonabe
        Jan 25, 2014 @ 16:23:09

        Oh sorry misread your comment. Was the tunnel good? I believe the story was somewhat different, I was putting off watching it in case they were too similar

  2. zoonabe
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 23:21:10

    Also, anyone with small kids will scoff at the idea of anything being self-cleaning!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

