Slow & Sure Wins The Race #LaceKnitting

snail

Talking to KnitWit I was surprised when she commented that she wasn’t very quick at finishing things.  To be honest, neither am I!  But I hide that fact from myself and the world by having a large number of projects on the go at once.  This way I can do a little here and there (guided solely by what I fancy making at the time) and fit the type of knitting to my mood.

To a non-knitter this may seem very haphazard and inefficient, as projects do take a while to finish. If I get a real bug to do that type of making (for example Granny’s Garden), I’ll focus on just that and burn my way through it. But I maintain that my hobby is knitting and not collecting knitted objects.  So as long as I am knitting then I am happy to leave it to a passing whim to choose what I knit.

snail2

This whim-led project selection may have its casualties (I have a half-finished shrug at the bottom of the box that has now sat there for two summers), but I am nothing if not persistent.

You might remember my little lament at the end of summer that, despite working hard at it, my cobweb scarf had only finished 70 rows. This sounded impressive until I realised that it was less than a foot long.  Well, after a brief stay in the naughty corner, it has fallen back in favour.

snail3

Some of this is helped by the fact that it is an easy lace (stitch markers I love you!). This was an epic 3 times re-start pattern until I broke up the repeats with little hoop rings, which does make it less brain-frizz knitting.  My other stand-by knitting (the red static socks) has also helped things, as they are currently less than enthusing me and my brain has had a real need for the simple.

snail4

I would love to declare the scarf finished, but that would be a lie.  Instead I would like to proudly point out that I have now doubled it and I am now on row 130 (of 260).  Yep, I am halfway through this sucker and the idea of it being finished is less of a cruel joke.  Some of this is helped by the fact that I have accepted that this is going to be a long slog and so I have stopped stretching and measuring it.

You will be amazed at how much quicker a project grows when you are actually knitting it….

LouBug

Leave a Reply

