March of the #Knittedsocks

march

I am pleased to announce that I have now finished my second set of super-secret Christmas socks (one pair to go woot-woot!). I am now only a couple pairs of monster mitts from being Chrimbo-finbo on the knitting front.  Pictures in the new year!

Socks have been featuring highly in my half term sofa knitting (probably helped by the fact that the end of term has left me a brain dead gibbering wreck).  I am still not convinced by the red static socks (to be fair I am planning on wearing them with boots). But they are nice and soft and will fit without bunching against the laces (a massive win in the hand knit sock column).

march2

The socks do look ok, but they are not very nice to look at while knitting, as it kind of magic eyes when you look at it.  It does say a lot about my last week that I have been carrying on with them (despite not being crazy about them) purely because they are plain and easy socks.  There is something very relaxing about blindly knitting without having to engage the brain (apart from clicking the counter).

march3

On the flip side of the coin I have also been making headway with my green Jjitterbug socks.  It is a nice pattern (Wanida from CookieA Sock Innovation) as it is far easier than it looks.  Do not be fooled, there are no cables and every even row is plain knit, but it does create a nice criss-cross pattern which also slants the yarn colour.  As I am currently re-reading “the Hunger Games” I have decided to call these my “Katniss” socks as it does reflect the colours of the arena forest and looks a bit like the fence around District 12.

march4

I have also finally cast on the “Zonki socks” by Pepperknit.  It was one of the first sock patterns I ever downloaded but I didn’t make them as I was too intimidated by the lace pattern.  I remember being excited over the “picture” knitting of the leaves and then being baffled about how the heck the whole lace thing worked.  The yarn has also been waiting around for a few years – it was bought for me by a lovely American student who used to come to our knit club and would take home a yarn order from us anytime she went back to the States.

Unfortunately, it promptly fell under the “too nice to use” as it was much softer than the yarns I was used to and it ended up forming the core of my pro-stash.  My stash has since grown in leaps and bounds and it seemed right to finally start to use up the “special” yarn, especially as I most definitely now “get” the lace thing!

LouBug

 

Leave a Reply

