Alexandra Palace and Grand Plans

wpid-1382534758453.jpg

There’s something about Alexandra Palace that has magical special powers, aside from getting me out of bed super early after the GREAT MOVE DAY. Yes, the longest house-move-gestation ever recorded was finally birthed the day before.

My last trip to a knitting show culminated in a comprehensive wittering about our LouBugKnits trip to Olympia. But Olympia suddenly feels like small fry compared to the great Ally Pally.

This mythical beast of a place seemed to have the power to get my auto-phobe sister into her car and tackle London traffic (give me public transport any day – I shudder at the thought, and I actually LIVE in London). Not only this, but my famously “careful with money” sister was suddenly AWASH with cash. The Queen’s eyes, usually blinking in surprise at getting an outing from her darkened purse, were suddenly in the full glare of this year’s Knitting & Stitching Show strip lighting.

I too was feeling rather crazy with the cash, momentarily confused at the value of money after moving house the previous day and spending literally a hundred gazillion pounds on such boring delights as stamp duty and removal men. What’s £30 on Rowan compared with the eye-watering zeros we owe to the government?

The magical special powers seem to have also stretched to eliminate my previous ‘to do’ list. Everything I bought seemed FAR more exciting than any of the other things I have been working on. Au revoir (for the time being, I do like it really) red knitted cowl. Sayonara weird grey basket weave block scarf…sorry son, cold neck for you this winter, I’ve bigger fish to fry!

So here it is – my loot. I did better than LouBug in some respects. Not the amount of goodies bought (of course), just that I had more than £2.00 left in my purse at the end of the trip. Yes, £2.00….oh dear.

First up the inspiration – £6.00 on a goodie bag of Let’s Knit back copies and assorted knit kits, best bargain of the day.wpid-1382534876688.jpg

Knit Kits
wpid-1382534623162.jpg

Black Sheep Wools – Always a half-price winner. I’ve already seen a pattern I like the look of for some red winter knits (patterns from my new Let’s Knits magazines, natch). The chunky Rowan would make a great lap blanket – handy for keeping warm in the winter now we’ve handed all our money over to the mortgage company. Rowan down from £69.99 to £29.99 – woop woop! Rowan photo pending…

wpid-1382534508730.jpg

This next set of photos are by far my favourite purchases of the day. Sorry yarn addicts, but it was the fabric stalls that got me this year. I could have bought the lot, but figured with my talent contraints (I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with the fabric yet…), my restraint was well placed.

Behold – Fabric!

wpid-1382534711540.jpg

wpid-1382534797054.jpg

wpid-1382534758453.jpg

wpid-1382564410989.jpg

I shall be back to report on my progress once there is more action!

KnitWit

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LouBug
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 20:23:20

    erm… I actually spent my last £2 on a rather fetching pair of charms. actual money left was about 35p!

    Reply

  2. KnitWit
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 21:46:58

    😮

    Reply

  3. knittingmydayaway
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 12:00:01

    Looks like you had a great time 🙂 as forthe money, it’s just money…..I can say that because it wasn’t my money being spent :0). 0, and I love the fabric!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

