Blasting the Cobwebs with Chunky

chunky

After the soul destroyingly slow never-growing scarf, I am happy to report on my other big summer project – Granny’s Garden.

This blanket came out because KnitWit started making flowers, and it reminded me how much I like making flowers. My LYS then had a sale and happened to sell some dark green chunky yarn, and so I decided to crochet a big green blanket and cover it with flowers.

The yarn is 50% wool to acrylic and is nice and soft. It should be very snuggly, with the added bonus that I will give myself a garden to enjoy in the deep dark winter.

chunky2

This was the progress at the start of the break and now (drum roll…)

chunky3

Here it is at the start of term!

I have put a flower on it for scale and, as you can see, things are looking good for it to cover the double bed. It is not finished (6 balls down, three and a half balls to go) but despite only working on it in short burst to dodge heat exhaustion, it has spectacularly grown. An ironic twist on the cobweb scarf (that I worked solidly on for the holiday) but never grew.

Oh chunky, how we love you!

I am currently playing with the idea of stash busting some Kermit green eyelash yarn on the border. I do quite like the solid edge the chunky crochet gives, so we shall have to see on that. Kermit may have to linger in the box a while longer.

chunky4

The grand plan is to make (and start using) the blanket and then cover it with flowers. A plan that realistically reflects the available time in the hectic first term. I can make a flower in an evening or two with minimal brain power needed.

This will give me short achievable goals at a time when I will be frazzled and/or frantically Christmas knitting. To give myself a head start I have re-claimed flowers from a never-worn scarf (as previously mentioned, there was nothing wrong with it; I just made a second one I liked more).

chunky5

I have also re-claimed these from various bags and jackets.

chunky6

Deciding that the start of term was already melting my brain, I also made this flower earlier this week out of sparkly sock yarn. I like the idea of playing around with different yarn weights on the flowers, as it will naturally change the scale of the flowers and hopefully create a more English garden effect.

It should also help work through my sock yarn scrap – there are only so many mitre pillows a girl can use.

(*Quick plug* – the pillows are a fantastically useful user of sock scrap, go have a peek, it is on our free pattern page “Bug’s sock scrap pillow” and on Ravelry).

chunky7

I also plan to make a few butterflies and bugs to dot about (mainly from my 75 Birds and Butterflies to Knit & Crochet by Lesley Stanfield) as I think this will help to balance the look. I do like it when a plan comes together!

Has anyone got any suggestions for flowers for me to try?

LouBug

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Quasimodo Cardi | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

