The Sound of KnitWit Laughing…

laugh

I am anticipating a mocking phone call. I can already hear the mocking level of glee that only my dearest sister can manage when someone else is failing at something she has also failed at. After my smug casting on of a cobweb weight scarf (in a slight sibling superiority move after KnitWit gave up on her lace weight scarf), I am starting to doubt my ability to finish this.

laugh2

At the start of summer I cast on this scarf from Victorian Lace Today in Kid Silk Haze. I have had it as my carry around knitting ALL BLOODY SUMMER and been working on it on trains, waiting rooms, odd minutes here and there and the occasional box-set marathon.

laugh3

As a plan this has worked and I have knitted 70 patterned rows of 60 stitches per row. If this was a normal DK scarf I would be well over half way and happy. If this was sock yarn I would have a complete sock and possibly the start of the second one done.

laugh4

But it isn’t. It hasn’t even knitted a full foot of scarf. The remaining ball of yarn (which seems to replenish itself in the night) is just sitting there looking pretty much as big as it did at the start. Possibly bigger.

Intellectually I did see this coming. The pattern does ask for 260 rows, in black and white for all to see. It isn’t really that shocking that with 190 rows to go that it might be a bit short.

Just because I knocked a few stitches off the width (as I wasn’t entirely sure that my stash dipped yarn was the right weight), it doesn’t follow that it will suddenly magically grow. I will continue (if only to show off to KnitWit), but this might take a little pit stop to the naughty step/box so that it can Think About What It Has Done.

I shall then peck away at the remaining 190 rows.

And don’t forget that the whole thing also has a trim…..

LouBug

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Blasting the Cobwebs with Chunky | LouBug & KnitWit
  2. Trackback: Slow & Sure Wins The Race #LaceKnitting | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

