Emergency SOS (Starting Of Sock)

sockssos

The start of term always hits like a freight train. Forget hitting the ground running, this is more hitting the ground with commando rolls while taking heavy fire! And this is all before the kids even step through the door.

After two days of back-to-back meetings, whilst panicking about the amount of prep to be done (things you cannot do before you get your class lists and data sheets) and then re-writing lessons to react to this data…Well, if I was a smoker I would have broken out the heavy tar ciggies!

Instead I broke out an emergency sock. Normally when I start a new sock I get my sock stash out and take a happy half hour to pick and choose what I fancy doing – plain or pattern (and then what pattern). I then think what would be a good yarn match.

A leisurely piece of me-time that firmly adds to the pleasure of the whole sock making experience. This time I opened the box and grabbed the first self-striping that caught my eye with indecent haste.

sockssos2

Now, as close followers of my ever failing battle against stash busting know, I bought a tiny amount of sock yarn on holiday this year *cough – 10 balls – cough*. So naturally this plastic zip bag was all at the top and in my stress grab range.

sockssos3

But, the most lovely Opal “sweet and spicy” bought in Wells did catch my eye first.

sockssos4

Brain melting, head pounding, heart panicking may have been the day, but like a cold compress, all of that eased away with the simple act of casting on.

I have a basic sock recipe I use a lot (I refer to it as “candy cane” after the first pair I made with it). Nothing special, no cuff and k2p2 rib to the heel and then plain on the foot, but very comfortable to wear and good for showing off self-patterning yarn. I like it as I tend to always wear socks with the leg folded over and the ribbed leg means that you don’t get stuck looking at the back.

sockssos5

The question does arise though…Is this sock stress relief or has it official moved into a self-medication?

LouBug

Leave a Reply

