A Strange Parallel Universe

universe

It is a strange thing, but I think KnitWit borrowed my life as well as my house last week! There she was knocking out two complete hats and here I am coming home having barely finished a row. Obviously it is the proximity to my (actually quite tidy) craft room that has motivated KnitWit (it certainly seems to have got her buying books – hee hee, so it begins!).

Similarly it must have been my distance from my stash (and the small matter of being on holiday) that cut into my knitting time.

universe2

But I’m back! And with a little help from series 3 of Downton Abby (I am nothing if not bang on trend) I have now finished my Araucania merino yarn shawl (from the lovely Sock-yarn Shawls: 15 Lacy Knitted Shawl Patterns by Jen Lucas).

universe3

I am really pleased how it has come out, but as it is worked on the long edge, I do have to admit that working 300 stitch rows did cut into my motivation as it was hard to see it progressing. Happily I finished the main lace panel and then it switched to short row increases and it then seemed to fly off the needles.

universe4

Obviously no trip to the West Country is complete without a few yarn shops, and I think I will give a post each to the main three we visited. I was reasonably restrained with all the goodies on display, but the combination of being on holiday and being weak-willed may or may not have led to dipping into the Ally Pally fund early.

Next problem is, where can I hide it?

LouBug

Leave a Reply

