Koala Hat Complete!

wpid-1375813944653.jpg

Well, here it is! A couple of days’ work and the lovely koala hat is complete. I’m really pleased with it, and it has come out far better than expected (my knitting expectations are always reasonably low!).

The only thing I changed was the omission of the pom-poms on strings.

I had visions of them getting caught in a door, or worse wrapped around a little neck, so thought they should go. Plus, of course, I’m in no doubt they’d be ripped off by some over enthusiastic 5-year-old in the playground.

Boy#1 – Over enthusiastic in the playground

wpid-1375814160913.jpg

The hat was taken from Vanessa Mooncie’s book Animal Hats

wpid-1375713660999.jpg

Hat in Progress

wpid-1375777404298.jpg

wpid-1375804009024.jpg

wpid-1375813987565.jpg

Flush with excitement at the speed and quality of my latest efforts (plus the sad bleatings of Boy#2 left “chilly” without a hat in the August heat), I am already planning my second hat.

Next on the list is the panda hat.

wpid-1375821152374.jpg

I have already purchased the black and white chunky wool – so here’s to my two-day knitting challenge once again. Best get moving then…

KnitWit

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer May
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 20:12:18

    I’ve been eyeing up that koala myself! I’ve just finished the penguin, panda, monkey and cat and I think I’m developing an obsession! I LOVE Vanessa’s book, my blog post on it’s here πŸ™‚ http://teaandknitting.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/hats-galore.html

    Reply

    • KnitWit
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:01:45

      OMG! You’re hat crazy!! Love the blog post, your hats are great (I agree, the book is brill). I’ve just completed the panda one (turned out better than the koala one!). I’ve given them to my kids, am not brave enough to wear them myself πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Panda Hat Delights! | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

