Treats for my Feet

feet

A stressful week has (oddly) given me a bit more knitting time than normal and I have finished the nice and easy socks.

I don’t even mind that they don’t line up exactly, sometimes chaos must be met with calm and the haze pattern was never going to be easy to match. It isn’t far off and I decided that it would defeat the purpose of being nice and easy socks if I spent hours frogging and re-knitting to create an identical pair.

feet2

As planned, they are nice and long for both summer wellies and winter boots, with the plain body being very comfy against the winter boot’s laces. They are made from Regia (and had the distinction of being the oldest sock yarn in the box) to my standard recipe.

feet3

Not being one to leave needles empty for long, I have already started the next ones. This yarn was the skein I bought at the Colchester Vintage Fair, back in the spring, and has lots of short colour burst repeats.

feet4

So far so good (it reminds me of tutti fruity sweets) and I am intrigued to see how it will look on the plain knit foot. Hopefully it will create bold colour washes and (fingers crossed) not pool and puddle into colour flashes.

So what is your favourite self-striping yarn? What standby yarns do you use and what is your secret indulgence?

LouBug

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thewoollyscouser
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 00:33:37

    Those socks look so comfy, love the colours in the yarn… Love the tutti fruity yarn even more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

