I Finished, I Finished, I Finished!

finished socks

Don’t be fooled, this small ball of left-over yarn almost gave me night-sweats as I frantically knitted, stared at it shrinking, knitted some more and then knitted worrying that it would run out. I love Jitterbug yarn, but I did wonder why the stuff I bought recently was in 150g hanks. Now I know, 100g is *just* enough yarn for little size 5 feet like mine, still all is well that ends looking so damn fine on my feet!

finished socks2

First up, a big wave to the lovely ladies at the Frating Weekender, especially to whoever brought the cheese scones! And a special shout out to Christine, I have to admit I was a bit flummoxed to meet someone who reads the blog (especially as she recognised the socks!).

I guess a small part of me still feels that this is mainly written to amuse my sister. A big thank you to those readers who have this delivered to your inboxes (I was a bit flattered to find out from KnitWit that we have a fan base). Perhaps I should start cultivating Diva behaviour and demand only green M&Ms in my studio? I am sure Mr LouBug and Cat will be more than willing to arrange that.

finished socks3

Ok, so back to the socks and some vital statistics: The yarn is Jitterbug “Heavens Above” (from the 2008 dye run), the stitch pattern is “Crosshatch Lace” from Charlene Schurch’s More Sensational Knitted Socks fitted to my usual basic sock recipe.

finished socks4

These have definitely been a surprise win for me. Slowly (as in ice ages have formed) knitting them over lunch breaks meant that I didn’t really focus on the sock as a whole, just the few rows I was working on. It really was a revelation when I pulled them from the bag and suddenly looked at the way the pattern flowed. It has been full steam ahead on them from that point and let’s face it, there is nothing like thinking that you are going to fall short of yarn to focus the mind a bit.

Here are some ideas of what to do if you actually do fall short:

1: Cry and eat cake (this was going to be my “go to” plan if the worst happened)

2: Cry and drink wine (my back up plan)

3: Frog back the finished toe, hope you have enough to get to the toe on the unfinished sock and then finish both toes in a contrasting colour.

4: If there wasn’t enough to get to the toe, then frog BOTH socks back to the heel and re-knit both feet in plain knitting (which would use less yarn). Hope you can get to the toe decrease and switch to a contrasting colour.

5: This would definitely involve crying – Try plan 4 again, but this time with a striped foot.

After all this peril my plain and easy socks will be a welcome break. They haven’t been forgotten and I have been nibbling away at them and I am now one down and the second one is on the needles. They gain extra ‘chillax’ points as I know that Regia has definitely enough yardage (with spare) and I can fire up the Kindle, sit in the sun and power through.

LouBug

Leave a Reply

