Knit your own Holiday!

wpid-1372160385469.jpg

Call me fickle, but after a brief fight with my double-pointed needles I decided to kick ‘Clyde’ to the curb. Bye-bye bunny. It’s not me, it’s you. Dumped!

Dumped
wpid-1371475755762.jpg

Swift to fill this stuffed bunny shaped hole in my life is ‘Scuttle’. I’d seen this pattern before in July’s issue of (you’ve guessed it) Let’s Knit, and really liked it. I had a vision to knit the squares separately, and not join them, then frame each one.

wpid-1372160207964.jpg

Growing up by the seaside, there’s something familiar and homely about these knitted fish and I want them for my new house. This is the perfect project to ignore all the paperwork and horror of moving house, and pretend we’ve already moved in and are ready to decorate. Head firmly in sand.

wpid-1372160261895.jpg

So far, I’m really pleased with how it’s turning out. Boy #1 already asked, ‘What’s that fish?’ unprompted…so at least I can rest assured my orange creation actually resembles a fish. Generally five-year olds don’t try to spare your feelings.

wpid-1372160331836.jpg

I’m just busy clicking off the rows to create the watery backdrop, and then my masterpiece will be complete. Mwah ha ha.

KnitWit

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. scouseaspie
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 11:09:39

    What a great idea, the blocks will look gorgeous individually framed 🙂

    Excellent job with the fish!

    Reply

    • KnitWit
      Jul 01, 2013 @ 11:09:28

      Why, thank you :-). I’ve just completed another fish (in green), so am poised to sew them onto their watery backdrop and hunt for a frame. LouBug thinks I’m lazy not doing the whole blanket (probably true), but I shall create art anyway!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

