Battle of the Socks

socks

I have long since realised that being a sock maker is my default inner knitter. Yes, I might dabble in shawls, jumpers and knitted cakes but my heart was freely given the first time I wore a pair of my own socks.

I have often thought that this is because the different patterns and methods give me an infinity of different possibilities, and so there is always something else to try. That, and the fact that they are ridiculously nice to wear!

Currently, I have four pairs on the needles (and three more queued). I have two socks particularly vying for my attention (like jocks around a cheerleader), and both socks have equal merit but different personalities.

socks2

Contender number 1 is frankly stunning! I started this one just after the honeycomb socks as my lunch-time knit, but crazy work times have left it untouched in the pocket of my work bag.

I re-discovered it while waiting for a parent’s evening and realised how pretty it was going to be. Sadly, it also needs more attention than a work tired brain can cope with. After a term of only getting to the first heel I felt sorry for it and put some rows on it at home. The downside is that it does need eyes down and brain awake to knit it which makes it bad TV knitting.

socks3

Which brings me to contender number 2, which is so easy you feel the other socks gossip about it behind its back. I actually started this on Tuesday when I realised that my brain couldn’t be trusted to knit lace, and I just couldn’t face adding rows to my purple cardigan.

The heart wants what the heart wants so I stash dove some stripy sock yarn and cast on. The yarn does all the work colour-wise, and I am simply knitting round and round and clicking the counter as I go. One of the big achievements I had as a knitter is when I could finally do plain knitting without looking, trusting my hands to notice any problems was a bit of a learning curve. Being able to read my Kindle and plain knit was a dancing around the living room moment of joy.

Plain socks do have a bit of a low boredom threshold for me so I keep filp flopping between super lace and super easy. So, tricky beauty verses the tart with a heart, which sock will be the first on my feet? The race is on.

LouBug

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 10:19:39

    I love the blue socks. I, too, e-read and knit at the same time. I asked for a book ‘deckchair’ the Christmas before last, which means I can prop up my e-reader (I have three – greedy I know!) next to me and knit away 🙂

    Reply

  2. KnitWit
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 11:32:36

    Ooh, I like the idea of a book deckchair! LouBug is far better at this than me – I’m still at the concentration stage. Any distractions and I’ve lost my way! KnitWit

    Reply

  3. Christine
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 17:37:05

    I think hubby got mine from (or via) Amazon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

