Kicking Booties

booties

Let’s gloss over miserable days spent marking and staring at the poor weather, and instead focus on sunshine and crafting!

booties2

Well, operation “Mission of Mercy” went well, although I forgot to grab a photo of the finished object. All I have is a work-in-progress shot (so please imagine an object of manly wool-based wonder).

So, thanks to a box-set marathon, the comfort socks were successfully completed in record time and deployed for some woolly TLC. Not bad for a wide fit, shoe size 10 sock! Unfortunately, it has got in Mr LouBug’s brain the idea that large man socks can be produced quickly and effort free. Hopefully I can re-instil the idea of it being a feat of superhero knitting power before he starts edging towards my stash box.

booties3

Christmas knitting has officially begun and I have now finished a “Sid the Owl” from Let’s Knit and a matched pair of booties for my nieces (rocking a bit of a flower fairy vibe with the colours). Admittedly it wasn’t originally planned as a sister set. I made a bit of a boo boo with the sizing, and the booties aimed at a one-year-old came out at 10.5 cm. A quick look through my books later, and I found a sizes chart which happily gave me 10.5cm for a 3-4 year old!

booties4

In a fit of efficiency I have also bagged up all my Christmas projects, so I have all my yarn set aside and ready to go. My plan is a rather leisurely one Christmas project per month to (hopefully) bring me a stress-free Christmas knit. Oh stop laughing! We all know it will go to pot, but I can try!

booties5

So, anyone else started on their Christmas knits yet?

LouBug

Leave a Reply

