Busy Bunny

BusyBunny

One nice thing about my free-fall approach to knitting is that my random acts of casting on are often mirrored by pockets of things being finished. Pictured above is a manly pair of socks for Mr LouBug (the yarn is by Regia). They came about when I was choosing sock yarn last year for Mr KnitWit’s Christmas socks and asked for a man-based approval on colour.

I had whittled it down to likely contenders and personally thought the grey stripes a winner. Mr LouBug immediately rejected it and when pressed he had to admit it was only because he wanted it for himself! Hard to argue with that kind of logic, so Mr KnitWit gained a different manly-coloured pair and Mr LouBug got his stripy socks. After all there has to be some consolations to sharing his home with my stash.

BusyBunny1

Also finished this week are my “Come on spring, I dare you!” mittens (shown with cuff folded and cuff down). These are the mitres mittens from Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac: The Commemorative Edition (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) with a variation on the cuff.

BusyBunny2

These were made from the left-over Jitterbug (a minor weakness of mine) and rumours that I have worn them around the house while dancing a happy dance are greatly exaggerated. Still, they should make winter easier to look forward to.

BusyBunny3

Work on the “Hearts and Diamonds” shrug continues. Annoyingly I had to rip back 12 rows as my brain did the wrong double decrease – *sigh* – but the linen blend should be fantastic when finished. And yes, my stitch markers are the world’s cutest fimo apples!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. scouseaspie
    May 11, 2013 @ 00:13:47

    I think happy dances should be compulsory upon all completed projects! Specially when the project is lovely lush mitts 🙂

    Reply

  2. KnitWit
    May 13, 2013 @ 11:18:48

    😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

