Butterflies, Dinosaurs & Knitted Shrugs

dino1

Well, I am now a year older and obviously much wiser. In a bid to show my maturity I decided that my birthday treat should be to go and see the dinosaurs at the Natural History Museum in London. As an added bonus they have currently got a living exhibition of tropical butterflies. It is a fantastic experience and immediately turned everyone in the room into a giddy five-year-old.

dino2

The whole thing is in a specially sealed marquee and it is full of flowers and smells gorgeous. I had four real-life tropical butterflies land on me, and yes one of them did land squarely in the middle of my chest!

dino3

Luckily I was wearing an appropriately themed top! From there it was on to see dinosaurs and cool sparkly gems and rocks. Of course, no knitter’s birthday is complete without a trip to a yarn shop. As I did Loop only a month ago, and I go to I-Knit reasonably regularly, I decided to go to Liberty’s instead (a good excuse to poke around Carnaby Street as well).

dino4

I got myself some thoroughly lovely linen and cotton blend yarn (perfect for summer) and I have an eye on making a second “hearts and diamonds” shrug.

dino5

The shrug was made a couple of summers ago and rapidly became my all-time favourite summer shrug. Extra brownie points came as it was made of yarn I reclaimed from a ill-considered scarf (the shop version I was trying to copy was made of kid silk haze type yarn, I made it from a cotton/Angora DK yarn *sigh, the foolishness of youth*). Incidentally, does anyone recognise the stitch pattern? I hand-copied it into my book, but I have no idea where it came from!

LouBug

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kialtho
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 16:51:57

    I love the Natural History Museum! I have a friend who works there and gave me a personalised tour of the whole place. It was amazing! Hope you enjoyed your birthday loads!

    Reply

  2. KnitWit
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 16:57:37

    Ooh, I like the sound of a personal tour!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Butterflies and Hurricanes | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

