Knitted Elephant (finally) Complete!

wpid-1366194515181.jpg

My impatience waiting for this pesky elephant to be finished reminded me somewhat of my own childish whinging whilst I waiting for my human offspring to be birthed. Why is this taking so long? Why, why, why??!

But now he is complete and I have (almost) forgotten the months and months of knitting little grey body parts.

Unlike my own lovely babies, this elephant hasn’t quite come out as I’d hoped. I haven’t gone as far as to reject it, leaving it alone in a desert somewhere. In fact, he’s so funny looking he has to be kept safely indoors just so passers-by don’t throw stones at it.

The seams are a bit wonky, head at a funny angle – he also looks a little bit, well, startled! Luckily for my children, I wasn’t tempted to knit them a super-chunky scarf to prop their floppy heads up…my elephant hasn’t been so lucky. He now sports a jaunty blue scarf as a lovely accessory and to hide my bad stitches and its scrawny neck.

wpid-1366194412338.jpg

Despite my every effort, I didn’t manage to master the mattress stitch that I hoped would give my elephant a less botched edge.

wpid-1366194553884.jpg

The pattern was from a book by Sarah Keen Knitted Wild Animals

knittedwildanimals

I am tempted to do another animal from this book, if only to keep my sad-looking ele-friend company. Each pattern contains similar elements, so should be more straight forward next time. I think I would approach it in a different way though. I have to embrace the slow progress, and break the pattern down into manageable and realistic goals. I don’t think I appreciated how long this project was going to take me and got frustrated at its slow pace. I’d plan one or two parts a week to get a realistic finish date and then voila! as if by magic I will have created another knitted delight!

wpid-1366194864765.jpg

KnitWit

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Uys
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 14:03:18

    Brilliant elephant. Well done. What do you do with your finished toys? I love knitting toys but have inundated my grandkids with them. I love miniatures of any kind and have recently sent away and received the pattern to knit a village which I am going to do as soon as I shift some WIP. What I will do with the finished products I do not know! I did the nativity scene and displayed it over xmas. Must say only myself and hubby had the pleasure of it. I have put a picture in my photos on my Facebook page. Ann Meades. If you would like to take a look. I think that would go down well in the entrance to a church over xmas. Ah well, maybe my stuff will get a showing at some stage. I am thinking maybe toys would be welcome in a local hospital, childrens ward? You must be thrilled your Nelly is finally finished. Cheers for now Ann

    Reply

    • KnitWit
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 22:08:22

      Well, this is my first knitted toy! It is currently residing in my boys’ room :-). I love the idea of a knitted village – it is along the same lines as my knitted cakes (pointless, but really good fun!). I will take a look at your Facebook page – I saw a book about a knitted nativity in a shop once and was really intrigued. Am not sure of hospital policy on accepting toys for children, but I do know there is a shoebox scheme that a charity (not sure which one) runs at Christmas, where needy children receive a shoebox of small gifts where they normally would receive nothing. Maybe something to look into? My mother-in-law often knits gifts for such a charity.

      Reply

  2. Daydreamer
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 14:19:00

    I love him, you should keep him and give him
    to you’r baby 🙂 so cute elephant :3

    Reply

  3. scouseaspie
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 14:34:49

    Aww so cute & lovable 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Knitting Bleatings | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

