Devil Yarn

wpid-1364589566062.jpg

Flushed with Seaweed Scarf success, I thought I’d attempt my other ‘fashion’ yarn scarf. It was supposed to be a light-weight, ornamental scarf – perfect for all that spring weather we’ve been having in amongst snow storms, arctic gales and subzero temperatures.

Turns out it is indeed light-weight (approx two knotted rows were completed), but alas I fear it falls down in the ‘ornamental’ category. It is, in fact, the work of the devil and I would happily throw the whole lot into a nearby skip.

I promise, I did try. I looked for YouTube tutorials. I trawled through enthusiastic American video clips promising – hot on the heels of the seaweed scarf glory – more moments of, “Wow, knitting genius, how have you managed that!?”

Unfortunately, I ended up with this:

wpid-1364054607577.jpg

I’m not sure where ‘perseverance’ ends and ‘flogging a dead horse’ begins. I would guess I was well into horse flogging before I had to take a deep breath and put the knotted horror down. What this image doesn’t convey is the endless casting on attempts and knitting the first row…quite a few times.

I’m not sure what kind of devil yarn I managed to discover at Olympia that day, but it is safe to say that it is buried in my clip-it box under a load of superchunky. Laughing at me. The swine.

KnitWit

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Uys
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 21:26:35

    Never mind, you had a go. Ann

    Reply

  2. Christine
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 21:44:06

    There’s only one place to bury such yarn (which is, indeed, the spawn of the devil) – in the dustbin, underneath some soggy teabags so you’re not tempted to retrieve. it.

    Reply

  3. Vonna
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 13:04:36

    I have some yarn like this. Except it’s Bernat Matrix. I have a pattern specific to the yarn (a shawl) But for the life of me I’ve attempted it 3 times and still can’t get it. Must be the yarn. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

