Finish-Up February – Part Deux

Flower

It is chucking it down outside, the wind is howling and only my pot plant seems to think it is spring. Which, for a knitter, is bliss! Winter is the season when our “little hobby” suddenly seems to the world to be the sensible life-choice we all know it to be.

How smug do we feel when we wear a different scarf and mitten combination everyday (which does hide the fact that, despite being a fully-grown adult, I still only own one winter coat)? How full of pity do we feel towards our cold toed co-workers when wearing our multitude of warm woolly socks? No one says “what is the point of knitting socks?” when there is ice in the air (they are more likely to try and angle a pair for themselves).

As I have mentioned before, being a bit cold is a good motivator for finishing up projects and I am now in the full swing of “Finish-Up February”. Nothing finished from last week but good progress has been made. I have even stuck to the same two projects (despite the temptation to annoy KnitWit by finishing up my lacy shawl).

So here is the update:

Big Green Jumper

jumper 1

jumper 2

This has progressed from waist to armpit and gained a lace panel on the front (back still in progress). I am aiming to have at least one arm finished by next week (plain to elbow and then picking up the rib to sleeve). Final jumper should look a bit like this (yes, it has been designed on the back of an envelope):

jumper sketch

Fire Dancer Socks

fire socks 1

First sock almost finished (the close up photo is the pattern stretched out, it is a wavy mock cable). An annoying random brown stripe has cropped up in the yarn *sigh* but I am unwilling to frog it back to lose the one on the leg. I have “re-located” the next stripe to the heel (which I will do again for the toe). A pity about the one on the leg (which I would have re-located to the cuff or omitted altogether if I had realised), but sometimes you just have to roll with it.

fire socks 2

I forgot to mention my lunchtime knitting socks in my last post, so here is an update on the honeycomb socks (with foot detail I have borrowed from Socktopus’ V-junkie).

Honeycomb Socks

honey socks 2

This is chugging along nicely – those stolen 15 minutes really do add up!

honey socks 1

LouBug

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andresue
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 13:14:09

    “No one says ‘what is the point of knitting socks?’ when there is ice in the air” lol! That is so true!!

    And, I can’t wait to see your finished green sweater. I love the design and color. It’s going to be beautiful!!

    Reply

  2. Kialtho
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 15:39:11

    The jumper looks incredible! The design of it looks immense too! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply

  3. KnitWit
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 16:11:39

    I’ve just sent a text to LouBug to check out your lovely comments – she will be pleased! KnitWit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

