Knitting and Falling Trees

LetsKnitFame

If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound? Or, more importantly, if I knit an item that nobody sees, is it slightly less glorious?

I think I know the answer to this, and I think I know what LouBug would say. We are sisters, although to look at us you’d never know, but really we are different beasts. LouBug would quite happily knit in the dark and not be fussed if the product never got an airing. Knitting item after item just for the fun of it, just for the pleasure of the click clack of her needles. It is only since starting this blog that I have seen the full extent of her knitting madness and the sheer quantity (and quality, of course) of things she has created.

I, on the other hand, am all about the showing-off. The journey is fine enough, but really it is the destination that I want. I am a compliment vacuum cleaner, and my latest quest for praise has come to fruition. The fun of knitting my lovely apple has been eclipsed by the sheer joy of its image gracing the pages of the March issue of Let’s Knit magazine (see above for rather bad photo LouBug took). I tweeted my work a while back confessing that, rather than using the free green wool they included in one of their issues for its intended purpose, I actually used it to knit an apple. This broadcast is now forever enshrined in print. Hurray!

Despite LouBug’s usual ‘I’m a secondary school teacher, you can’t shock me’ demeanor, she did phone me in a state of great excitement. Maybe she might get into this shameless knitting self promotion after all.

KnitWit

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fame At Last! | LouBug & KnitWit
  2. Trackback: Let’s Knit – Part Deux | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

