Happy Knitter and the Mysterious Scarf

scarf II

I’ve always said that my love of detective stories and working out my own patterns must come from the same part of my brain. I was genuinely surprised to find out from my knitting group that your average knitter always uses patterns and rarely changes anything. They find it funny that when they ask me what pattern I’ve used the answer is usually, “I’ve used such and such, but then I changed the yarn, shaping and neckline”. For them this is like watching someone trek cross country over rough ground while you sit in the back of a car on a good clear road.

I can see their point, why change it when someone else has done the work? But for me the joy of knitting is that no one else on this planet has the item I am wearing (unless there was a fairly freaky set of coincidences). All mine. I may never win a gold medal at the Olympics, but (damn it) I have a set of jumpers that fit me perfectly and I will never see a supermodel looking better in them than me.

This crazy lady approach to knitting also pays off when you see something in a film that gets your knitting fingers twitching. Fear of the copyright police makes me wary of naming the film; but let’s just say that in it there is a young wizard in a boarding school that has a rather nice preppy striped scarf.

Notebook

Watching this film in the run down after Christmas, Mr LouBug happened to mention that he saw one in a certain well-known London based comic shop for the same price as the entire box set of films, and wondered if his genius LouBug might be persuaded to knit him one (chocolate was also strategically deployed).

Not being a completely crazy lady I checked out the hive mind of patterns in Ravelry, but aran or 4 ply seemed to be the yarn of choice. Unfortunately, I had just tracked down the perfect shade of gold and burgundy but it was only in DK. Time to roll up my sleeves and get out my post-it notes. Now, a non-knitter may not see the logic of freeze framing the DVD and measuring off of the screen to get the exact proportions of colours. They may not understand the clearly sane idea of searching for an image online, cutting and pasting it in to file to then expand to the point the pixels looked like a jumper from the 80s, to get a more accurate measurement.

I do need to apologise to my GCSE maths teacher at this point. She was right, I did need to learn fractions and ratios as I did need them in later life. Sorry Miss, you were right to drum it into my stubborn brain.

Scarf

Things are progressing along nicely. Now all I need is Molly Weasley’s magic self-knitting needles.

LouBug

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andresue
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 13:30:25

    Love this post. I can totally relate… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kialtho
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 15:32:10

    I’m using DK for mine, and in the round and its coming along okay! I didn’t use a rav pattern for mine either, made it myself, although jot to the same detail as yours 🙂 I tried knitting in a crest, again, adapted from a pattern, but I managed to knit it upside down lol. Makes it unique, and lesson learnt for the next time 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jeyna Grace
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 16:23:46

    Wow, looks good!

    Reply

  4. KnitWit
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 16:19:03

    Thanks guys – LouBug is going to put a pattern up for this at some point! KnitWit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

