The Small Issue of Stash

Knitters are well known for having a little *ehem* problem. For some of us it is socially awkward, for some of us it is a matter of stealth and for some of us it is so full of denial there are crocodiles floating past. Ladies and Gentlemen I talk of your stash. We have all seen photos that make the Britain’s worst hoarders look chilled and organised. We have all heard horror tales of people discovering mice or (best to whisper) moths living for happy generations in a neglected corner of it. We have all marvelled at other stashes with a mix of horror and envy.

No one sits you down and explains the facts of knitter life to you. Even Knitwit doesn’t quite realise the inevitable fact that she to, she who vacuum packs away clothes in seasonal boxes, will also stash. For me, I am lucky. My main obsession is socks. This luck may puzzle you, as we all know sock yarn is far too easy to love and buy, but it is also small.

Last peek into the stash box revealed at least 70 balls of sock yarn (I really wish I was exaggerating for effect, seriously, even I was a little worried) but all of it is in different colourways and all of it is beautiful. More importantly it all fits into a ziplock jumper bag (or two). Imagine if I had enough yarn to make 70 jumpers and you can see why I thank the fates that I don’t impulse buy jumper yarn in the same way I buy sock yarn. For one thing, I would have to learn to knit quicker.

LouBug

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andresue
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 14:16:38

    One of my favorite things to look at- gorgeous stashes of yarn!

    I am one of those who buys sweater-quantities of yarn. But, I’ve been working through the stash and have only about 10-sweaters worth of yarn at the moment… and quite a few odd leftover balls.

    But, isn’t is such a great feeling- to have your own personal yarn shop in your home? When inspiration strikes, you don’t have to run out to the store or wait for a shipment of yarn to arrive.

    Reply

  2. KnitWit
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 14:58:38

    I have cleared a small shelf in my wardrobe – LouBug has an entire room (as does my mother-in-law). Think I may need a bigger home if this carries on 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

