Lacy Knitted Things

lace

Continuing on my project hoard busting plan, I have now turned my focus on my small pile of lace work on my to-do pile.

lace2

I have already mentioned the lovely purple silk scarf/shawl I completely forgot about (from “Sock Yarn Shawls”). Picture the glow of purple shining on my face as I opened the bag expecting to find another pair of socks!

Pure silk (which was a complete git to wind into a ball) bought at least two years ago. I know this as I bought the same brand but in blue last year at the ever wonderful Ally Pally. Photographs do not do it justice, as the yarn has an incredible colour depth to it (as well as a nice fade in/out wash – a bit like stonewash jeans). It should block like a dream. I have been pecking at it – the pattern isn’t too difficult, but there is a lot of it! I shall try to go into full burn over the summer.

lace3

What has currently been occupying my attention is this lovely little scarf. Cast on (frogged and bagged after a small disagreement over tension) about three months ago. It is a light jacket scarf called “Summer Stream Scarf” by Asami Kawa which is knitted in two parts and grafted in the middle.  I have made it with Drops Colour Transition Sock Yarn and, because I am me, I have carefully matched the yarn and cast on both ends at once (to be grafted in the middle). I’ve moved Heaven, Earth and all the angels to try to match the colour repeat. Symmetry matters, people!

lace4

Now, I am a patient person, but three knot related colour jumps (damn you!) in a yarn that subtly washes into the next colour (so any colour jumps create a hard line that screams out “hello look at me!”) would test the sanity of the saintly. I have thrown the full force of my stubbornness at it (fear me) and I have managed to locate and match in replacement sections to better hide the jumps. In real terms this meant unwinding the WHOLE DAMN BALL and feeding it through my hands in strong sunlight and then performing surgical splices. I would like to say that the whole process took two hours. I really would. But it didn’t, and I don’t really want to talk to anyone about it (apart from the stash, it understand my pain).

I am resisting sending it back into the box (to think about what it has done) as it is almost finished. I know that there is the small matter of the half stitch jump to contend with (always an issue when grafting top to top) which will make grafting a battle.

*Sigh*

Still, let’s focus on positives. I wonder if I will find any more lace as I continue my archaeological dig through the project box of doom?

LouBug

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. atangledyarn84
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 14:05:45

    It looks lovely despite the frustration level!

    Reply

  2. Christine
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 10:24:37

    I may have had a bit of a moan on my blog about knots in self-striping yarns, especially when the colour sequence gets mucked around with. I like the scarf though – will have to investigate the pattern.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

