The Great Yarn Tour (Part 2)

tourpart2

From here to the city of Wells, a mere 10 minutes from the village we stayed in. And yes, I did visit the Book Barn (1 million books…), and no, I didn’t run up and down the aisles skipping. Well, maybe a little bit.

yarntourpart2 ii

And to Mandy’s Wool Shop. Do not be fooled, this place is a TARDIS. I will admit that I did not expect much from the outside, but by the time I walked in my jaw dropped as is just kept going back and back. I got the impression that they had secretly tunnelled into next door (or possibly another dimension) and had got away with it!

yarn tour part2 iii

They had a good selection of Opal sock yarn and I had to limit myself to just two (I could have easily bought about six). I am trying to wean myself off buying as much stripy sock yarn as I can’t do lace patterns, but it is just so pretty! The heart wants what the heart wants.

yarn tour part 2 iv

The main part of the shop was ridiculously well stocked and I had to do a good three of four sweeps through each room to make sure that I hadn’t missed anything. Basically, that is what I want my future stash room/walk in yarn wardrobe to be like! Shelves of carefully sorted yarn all neatly packed into bags.

yarn tour 2 v

So here is my haul. The Opal is charmingly called ‘Sweet and Spicey’ and had some very tempting green colourways (I held firm, I hope you are proud!). The staff are lovely in there and were very helpful with the blue yarn (no band but £1 a skein!) and helped me narrow down likely fibre and weight. I figure I will make mittens as they feel like DK wool and I should be able to stripe in some leftovers to make up the weight.

yarn tour 2 vi

I also did a quick fabric shop at Mille Moon, it reminded me of a cake shop as every time I settled on my squares, three more caught my eye. I was reasonably good, but I shall definitely be okay for bag fabric for a bit.

LouBug

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 21:35:54

    Sounds like you had a good look through Mandy’s Wool Shop. I love the look of that fuschia/purple/blue Opal sock yarn (because I need more sock yarn like I need a hole in the head) :D So, how much fabric did you buy? Or is that going to be revealed in a future post? :D

    Reply

  2. LouBug
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 21:50:21

    How much fabric (beads, buttons, charms etc) is a closely guarded secret as Mr LouBug does read this and the jig would indeed be up! Safe assured that there might be an explosion of new projects bags on its way…

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Emergency SOS (Starting Of Sock) | LouBug & KnitWit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

