The Spring Knitting and Stitching Show 2013

Knitting_stitch_olympia_logo

LouBug and I are poised to buy tickets to the upcoming ‘Spring Knitting and Stitching Show 2013′ at London’s Olympia. I’ve never been to such an event, but LouBug is a veteran.

She talks, or should I say gabbles, of her last trip to the knitting show at Alexandra Palace with the same fervour as someone who has survived a great historical battle. With an intense and far-off look, I have been regaled with tales of dodging crazy wool ladies and strategic lunch breaks. LouBug’s victories in the stamina war were a bag of 50% off posh yarn and a frivolous purchase of a ‘I’d rather be knitting’ mug (amongst about £200 worth of other things!).

My sister is famous in our family circle for her avoidance of driving anywhere but well trodden, and reasonably local, routes. I am tragically exactly the same. I’d rather battle with public transport than drive unchartered territories. LouBug, however, to my complete shock relayed that she had, in fact, driven all the way from Essex (alone!) to the holy Alexandra Palace!

She claims there were complications with the trains that would have prevented her from getting to the gate on time, but I know it was because she planned on buying more than a human was capable of carrying and needed the boot of her car. Clearly woolly delights trumped adrenaline-fulled driving terror. This also allowed her to lurk around long after the coach parties had left, allowing her to complete her crazy knitting alchemy and turn her plastic flexible friend into wool.

Weirdly, none of this has put me off. I shall be sharpening my elbows ready for 16th March and getting ready for the stampede. Top tips gathered so far have been:

1. Bring a packed lunch – no food-queue time wasting here!

2. Set a budget – my children do, afterall, still need food and clothing. Once (in about a decade’s time) they get a Saturday job to pay for such frivolous purchases, the sky’s the limit!

3. Don’t be fooled by the sweet knitting grannies – they’d happily trample you for some half-price alpaca…

Anyone else been to The Spring Knitting and Stitching Show before?

KnitWit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

